You Are My Best Friend: A poem to all the friends I have met

I wake up and go to school

I scan the crowds of students searching for you

Then I see your bright eyes

and I am instantly calmer

You smile

I smile

We make it through another day

Of schoolwork, nagging and constant hysteria

I look at you and I know you are

The only thing that makes sense when I am here

School is a kind of prison that takes the joy out of things

I’m glad I found you

I’m glad I can see your face everyday

Even if you don’t think so, You are

I see you, even if you don’t see me

Even if you don’t think of me the same way

I enjoy your company

You are

but am I?

Leave a Reply

